Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon!

Hey Book Nerds!

I am so excited to announce that I am officially participating in the April 2017 round of Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon! I have wanted to participate in this event for 4 years now because I really love readathons. But they only happen twice a year- once in April and once in October, both which continuously conveniently fell on the weekends before finals week or midterms, meaning I haven’t gotten the chance to participate, but that is about to change! As I mentioned in my life update post, I don’t have any finals this semester, which means I can (attempt to) stay up for 24 hours and read with hundreds of other people! Words, honestly can’t describe how excited I am. I’m going to be prepping all week (mostly mentally prepping) by getting food ready for the weekend, getting reading locations figured out, and getting my books ready. The readathon for me starts at 8:00am on Saturday, April 29th and ends at 7:55am on Sunday, April 30th. Everyone starts at the same time for this readathon, so your start time may differ from mine (but this can be found here)

For this readathon, I am going to do things slightly different than the majority of people participating. I am going to have a theme, which is really exciting for me. My theme is going to be, drumroll please, clearing off my currently reading shelf! Unless you are new to my sight, then you guys all know how I am definitely one to start a book and put it down and never pick it back up again. Well, this year, I’ve made it a resolution to try and finish all of the books I have started and not finished on my shelves. So, a couple of hours ago, I sat down in front of my bookshelf at school and wrote down stats for the unfinished books I have here with me (there are more at my parents house, so these aren’t all of them, but I good portion of them). Below are the stats:

Delirium by Lauren Oliver: pg. 147/441 (294 pages left)
Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin: pg. 55/347 (292 pages left)
One for the Money by Janet Evanovich: pg. 6/320 (314 pages left)
Going too Far by Jennifer Echols: pg. 66/245 (179 pages left)
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab: pg. 180/398 (218 pages left)
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare: pg. 162/453 (291 pages left)
Truthwitch by Susan Dennard: pg. 126/412 (286 pages left)
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: pg. 22/309 (287 pages left)
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera: pg. 88/293 (205 pages left)

Obviously I won’t be reading all of these during the readathon, but I have a good mix of books to choose from and my goal is to finish two of them. So far, I am planning on reading Going too Far since it is the shortest book of them all and I have more pages read in that book for its page count than any of the other ones. As for the other books, I want to mood read. I’m probably just going to pick up whatever I feel like reading at that point, which is going to be difficult since 8 of the 9 books all have over 200 pages remaining. But, nonetheless, I will still aim for finishing two books.

As for a strategy, I have no clue what I am going to do. I’m probably going to watch vlogs and take people’s tips from there. I already know I’ll probably have to nap at least once during this readathon, so at least I have my priorities straight. I’ll probably try to change up my reading locations as well. Unfortunately, it’s supposed to be rainy that weekend here so reading outside won’t be an option. So I’ll probably alternate between reading on my bed and on my floor, let’s be real.

If you have any tips or tricks, feel free to share them with me! Are you participating in Dewey’s? If so, what are you planning on reading?

Brittany

Leave a Reply

